Blowing in the Wind

It looked as though it had been snowing this morning when I pulled up the blinds and saw the grass covered in white and what looked like snowflakes floating past the window on the breeze.
When I investigated I discovered it was like flimsy cotton wool, covering little oval seed pods in various stages of bursting open.
This could be the work of a variety of the poplar tree, perhaps the Black Poplar, but if anyone wants to contradict this, feel free.
It is certainly an ingenious way for the seeds to be transported by the light as air white fluff surrounding them.

20130726-152829.jpg

About ladyfindhorn

A lady of a certain age living with her husband in the capital of Scotland, and with a large family and lots of grandchildren. I write a daily pictorial diary of my life which I hope my descendants might find interesting in the future.
This entry was posted in Journal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment